Duties of a child missionary in Guatemala

· History / Historia

jr_buildingAs a young child, I was pressed into service and forced to build churches, evangelize the natives and recruit them to my father’s cult.

Towards the end of 1954, democracy in Guatemala had finally been turfed out the window and Colonel Carlos Castillo Armas had just been installed by the CIA as the new fascist president.

Settling into his new role as the Liberator, the Colonel was busy deporting dissidents, jailing and torturing protesters and assassinating hundreds on a hit list, provided by John Purifoy the American Ambassador .

© J. Russell December 20, 2015
If you would like to provide corrections or additional information, contact jrussell602@gmail.com
You may Quote/Copy/Share this article, provided a link is included to this page

My parents had finished learning Spanish, survived their first coup d’etat whilst living in Guatemala City and my father Gray E. Russell, was preparing to begin his work for the Brethren, the fundamentalist cult responsible for inventing and propagating much of the malignancy in modern day Christianity.

Some months earlier, my father and fellow cult leader Carlos W. Kramer had split the country into two different territories and each one had appointed himself as a Vessel of the Lord, in their own fiefdom. The Brethren are not big into mentioning God and usually referred to their deity as the Lord, who’s involved in everything they do.

My father decided to base his fiefdom in the town of San Marcos in western Guatemala near the Mexican border, where he purchased a huge block of land and built a large three bedroom tongue and groove, wooden house.

The Guatemala Chronicle is FREE to read because it’s funded directly by readers like you. If you would like to make a DONATION of $5 dollars, $10 dollars or $25 dollars to the Guatemala Chronicle, your support will enable us to continue publishing more great articles. Thank You.

The locals had never seen anything like this before as they usually built in adobe and concrete blocks were still a novelty. The local carpenters were put to work building our house using all the tools he had brought from New Zealand in a huge crate and were soon shown how to build in the “proper manner”.

The most important component of our new home was the construction of an enormous garage which contained a number of special features that allowed it to be rapidly transformed into a church, for the eight services held each week.

On completion, our garage/church was consecrated with a number of primitive religious rituals that would have made the Catholic Opus Dei cult, blush with pride. Even I was extremely proud of this, as few children could say they had a sacred garage.

As I was being raised in the ways of a young missionary, it was natural that I be assigned the task of church assistant and told that I had to be extremely respectful whenever entering the garage, as it was now the Lord’s dwelling place.

As it turned out, my title as church assistant was a lot more grandiose than it sounded and I soon realized that I was no more than a lowly serf, exploited by my father for no pay, in the service of the Lord.

My church assistant duties were considerable. Before each garage/church service, I had to open the rear doors of the garage and push our 1948 Buick Roadster which weighed a ton, out onto the custom designed ramp behind the church.

Next, I had to assemble the Altar/Pulpit in it’s correct location and then place the 100 heavy wooden chairs in neat rows, 50 each side of a center passageway. Men sat on one side of the passage and women on the other.

On completion, my father inspected my work and naturally, there was always something I hadn’t done right. Subjected to a number of patronizing comments inspired by the Lord, I took it like a man.

After each church service, which I was required to attend, I had to stack all the chairs away again, dis-assemble the Altar/Pulpit for storage and push the Buick back into the garage. Exhausted, it made me sleep better and avoided my waking during the night to annoy my parents.  

Any carping I occasionally indulged in was nipped in the bud very quickly by my father, who simply denied me the privilege of eating my dinner, as also instructed by the Lord.

As I’ve never had a weight problem and have been quite slim all my life, I’ve always put this down to the number of dinners I was denied whilst growing up for refusing to co-operate with many of the Lord’s wishes.

I was just a small boy at the time, however all tasks I was assigned in the Lord’s work were a privilege and as my father often reminded me, if I had been a Catholic child with similar duties, I would have had to self-flagellate, wear a crown of thorns and make a pilgrimage, before and after each service.

Years later, I found out that Catholic church assistants had to do personal sexual favors for the priests if they were to assist in sacred rituals, however the Brethren weren’t into that so much, preferring to psychologically f**k all their children and followers.

Friday night Prayer Service was extra special as it was designed to be a mental and physical torture session, that lasted up to three hours. Living at thirteen thousand feet altitude, the nights was incredibly cold in the Lord’s garage/church.

All the faithful knelt on the humid and cold concrete floor, with their faces buried in the wooden chairs, trying to get closer and closer to the Lord.

The smell emanating from the seat of the wooden chair, where I often had my face buried, was foul. Numerous indians had sat on this chair previously and the cheap grey colored paint, had absorbed all of their foulest odors, as none of them wore underwear. It was like praying directly into the Lord’s smelly arse.

The Brethren had no fixed prayers you could learn or memorize and there was no logical sequence to their prayer meetings. They were into free-basing spiritually and it was more akin to checking into in a mental asylum run by the inmates for a 4 hour stint.

All the males took turns to rant incoherently to the Lord. The pray-er of the moment, incapable of organizing his thoughts, mumbled dis-jointedly in a loud voice, complaining to Jesus about anyone he disliked and repeated all sorts of juicy gossip about others.

Friday night prayer meetings were definitely the place to be if you wanted to know about all the sins committed during the week, although I never understood why we needed prayers, as the Lord knew everything, even before we did.

40 year later, still terrorized by my anti-Catholic conditioning, I attended my first Catholic service and to my amazement, everything was very civilized. The prayers were brief, there was elegant seating in the church and there were some neat little wooden prayer boards to kneel on.

The priest was obssesd with the cardiovascular well being of his flock, constantly standing, sitting and kneeling his congregation during mass. It was a like religious gym class controlled by God and different to the Brethren, everyone knew the words to the prayers and the songs and sang in tune.

I didn’t have much to do with the construction of our house, however three years later when my father decided to build his brand new church just up the road, things changed and I was required to front up and work like a black fella.

By now I was becoming a reticent missionary and told him that the Lord hadn’t called me to be a missionary and there were plenty of lazy indians everywhere”.

Enraged, he went red in the face and screamed that all our family had been called by the Lord, to be his servants in Guatemala”. For the first time, even at that young age, I began to suspect that I was being fed a lot of bullshit.

Digging my heels in and facing a thrashing with the discipline cane, brought all the way from New Zealand in anticipation of a likely child revolt, the matter was not settled until he promised to increase my monthly allowance and pay it in advance. This deal was negotiated by my mother, who always enjoyed seeing my father defeated in all monetary matters.

I was then put to work . . . measuring cement, weighing sand, carting water, mixing concrete, packing the block molds and stacking wet concrete blocks. Yes, we made our own concrete blocks.

My father didn’t trust the local block-makers and being in earthquake country, he didn’t want his church to collapse at the first tremor so he had concocted his own block mixture, which made them so heavy, I could hardly lift them.

As my home schooling was from 9am to 1pm, I had to report to the church construction site immediately after lunch, where I worked like a coolee til dark.

Regardless of how many times I sulked, screamed or threw a temper tantrum, nothing saved me from church construction duties and I began to further detest, all types of missionary work.

A few years ago, I ran into a lady in San Marcos who reminded me that when we were children I had pushed her over a 30 foot bank beside the church, when she and her friends had taunted me for working on the church like an indian. Nice lady, she still thought it was funny, as my wife and I sat in her humble home drinking coffee.

At other times my father would say in a jolly mood Come with me this afternoon and let’s witness for the Lord”. Thinking he was bonding with me, he was completely oblivious to the fact that it distanced us further. Forcibly, I had to accompany him giving out religious propaganda, which he insisted was the duty of each missionary.

If there were no pilgrims in the street to harass or everyone had fled so as to not be assailed by the Lord’s Men, we would knock on the nearest door of a house and try and speak to someone. Many wouldn’t answer their doors.

On the other hand, if we were in a poverty area, the locals didn’t have any doors to knock on. Instead, we would make our way to their shacks along narrow tracks that doubled as open drains, whilst we tried to avoid stepping in the chicken shit, dog turds or pig squirts. The smell was often overwhelming.

My father didn’t care about such things and the more fetid the tracks to the shacks, the more he enjoyed them. Rescuing Catholic souls from eternal damnation was a blessing to him and he knew he would receive his reward when Secretly Raptured.

Hailing a shack with a “good morning/afternoon” (in Spanish), I would ask the dweller if they had heard of Jesus and gave them a religious pamphlet. As Guatemala is a Catholic country, everyone had already heard of Jesus so the question was just an ice breaker.

If someone wanted to chat, I would begin to witness for the Lord and explain that the Catholic Jesus the pilgrim had already heard of was the wrong Jesus and that the message I had that day was from the living Jesus (the Protestant Jesus), who was very different to the Jesus he was used to.

Some of the smarter pilgrims wouldn’t fall for my bullshit that easily and countered with I believe in God, Jesus, the Saints and the Virgin”. Thoroughly trained by my father, I would patiently explain that my father’s church had an arrangement with Jesus that was very different to the Catholic arrangement.

I would then begin to recount how my father’s church had New Revelations from Jesus, whereas the Catholics kept using old and outdated Revelations. If they continued to suspect I was telling a pack of lies, I had a trick up my sleeve that always did the trick; “Do you know how to read?” I would ask.

The answer invariably was; “no, I never had the opportunity to learn” and with that, I immediately re-gained the upper hand and had something that would put me in the box seat again, evangelizing for the Lord.

That’s the problem” I would say, “The Catholic Church only tells you what they want about Jesus. Come to our church, Jesus will help you learn to read and that way you can confirm that everything I am telling you is true”.

My closing masterpiece was; “At our church you don’t have to confess each time you do something wrong. You only confess once, and the Lord takes care of the rest”.

Standing nearby, my father would listen carefully to everything I said and would later congratulated me on what a great job I had done Saving Souls for the Lord. He had taught me well.

It always amazed me how many of these pilgrims trusted me and were so easily fooled, as many would later arrived at the church wanting to know more about the living Jesus.

The Brethren had perfected and utilized the two most powerful sales techniques know to mankind; Fear of Loss and the Two Option Close, concepts too complex and sofisticated to go into here.

Years later when working for IBM, I suspected they had stolen their sales manual from the Brethren, as many of their business clients in the 1970s were just as gullible as those that had bought the Eternal Life Program in the mountain highlands of Guatemala.


 

21 Comments

Comments RSS
  1. Bianca Extraña

    Christian Atheist? LOL there is no such thing hahaha this guy (Russell) trips me up, really the pope? you, heaven without believing in The Son of God “JESUS”? you are better (not excellent) but ok writing other articles please don’t get into the religious themes is too much bitterness on your side

    Like

  2. catherinetodd3

    PS: I don’t know why all these people are coming here running down this site just because they don’t agree with you. If they don’t like it, they can leave! And certainly not read. How can one person’s blog be so important to others; seems like it is just more “shoving Christianity down someone’s throat” instead of just letting the world be, and doing one’s own bit of “do-gooding” wherever we can help instead. Keep up the good work. The truth is a powerful thing, even if others don’t like hearing it.

    Like

    • Bianca Extraña

      He can write as much as he wants OUT of Guatemala. We don’t need this articles full of bitterness, some of them full of hate. we may be able to take worst but from our own people, not someone that is taking up space and on top of that is talking bad about the country, the people the culture, the customs, the government, evangelicals he can chocked down his catholic believes after al religion will not save you

      Like

      • By: John Russell

        Jajajajaja “He can write as much as he wants OUT of Guatemala”, what a nincompoop :)

        Like

    • By: John Russell

      Hi Catherine
      This article is so popular I might translate it into Spanish just to get them all going completely ape-shit
      Cheers
      JR

      Like

  3. Jeff Mills

    John, I too feel sorry for you being raised in a legalistic cult. i certainly see bitterness in you whether you know it or not. your post about the Hospital Piivado Hermano Pedro could get you sued. I take a lot of patients there and they have been carefully taken care of. You should not paint all missionaries with the same paint brush, there are certainly many who are helping out not just spiritually but in many areas of life and changing the live sof the poor for the better. You amaze me that all your ranting about Antigua that you are still living here. We preach the love of God and lives have been changed. Hmm!

    Like

    • By: John Russell

      Hi again Jeff. Thanks for your patronizing comments.

      Sounds like you are running a “missionary defense league” and from my experience, “preaching the love of God” is nothing more than cultural indoctrination for your own purposes.

      If I had my way, all do-gooder WASP missionaries should be expelled from the country, as they have enough problems without having to deal with the “white messengers of God” as well.

      If I’m not mistaken, I don’t believe you are medically qualified to determine if someone has recieved adequate medical care at the Private Hermano Hospital.

      Saludos JR

      Like

      • Jeff Mills

        See, you know nothing about me. I am an MD> don’t know why you stay in this country forever running it down. Only Jesus can change your black heart.

        Like

      • By: John Russell

        Clearly Jeff, if you were a competent medic, you wouldn’t need to be taking people to be treated at the Private Hermano Pedro and risking their lives and pocketbooks and instead, would do the job yourself.

        As a Christian Atheist, the Pope has assured me that I will go to heaven as well and apparently I don’t need Jesus to be involved in any of this.

        I quite like Jesus’ teachings, but I don’t think you are a Jesus follower and instead are a follower of Saul/Paul. I would say that he was the one with the black heart.

        I don’t know if you have managed to find the time to read a two part thesis I wrote on Paul so I will include the link here for your convenience.

        Meet the real “Saul of Tarsus” – Ch. 1

        Cheers JR

        Like

  4. Jeff Mills

    Being in a religious group like the Bretheren I can understand how you felt, but don’t paint all Christianity with the same paintbrush. There are missionaries out here doing great work among the poor, with clinics, schools, and churches (Christian churches).

    Like

    • By: John Russell

      Hi Jeff. We would first have to agree that “missionaries” are a good thing.
      Cheers JR

      Like

    • catherinetodd3

      JR: I agree with you completely, after my own experience growing up Catholic and with some of the Christian NGO’s and Evangelicos around Guatemala (where I live part of the year). Plus knowing “Christians” in the USA – how many of them are teaching hatred and discord to all kinds of “other” people they don’t “approve” of? ‘Nuff said.

      Like

  5. catherinetodd3

    Excellent true stories! I know so much of what you are talking about, having been raised as an Irish “cradle Catholic.” Cheer on! Am reading everything you have written with a vengeance. Gracias, amigo. Keep going! The world needs to know, whether they like it or not.

    Like

  6. Messiah for all 2015 in review – linked to this post.
  7. Bianca Extraña

    I commend J. Bright for speaking the truth, we your readers already know you are so resented to your ancestors legalistic cult that your writings can’t hide your true feelings about Christianity, which by the way you don’t know anything about. Please don’t take this opinion wrong, don’t get defensive I’m just making an observation and before you ask me: no I don’t hold a degree in psychology but I have a personal relationship whit my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (through salvation) I do read the bible, I’m not religious I do love God and I’m not jesusera
    Best wishes (hoping you find closure this year to your bad memories)

    Like

    • By: John Russell

      Hi Bianca

      Thanks for your best wishes.

      One of the benefits of living in the real world and not being burdened by the influence and opinions of an imaginary friend, is that I can say and think what I like.

      I suspect you have some doubts about your “Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (through salvation)”, as you quaintly put it, as you seem to enjoy lurking around the Guatemala Chronicle and taking pot shots at the author.

      As I spend part of my day lunting, I have time to reflect on reader’s comments and find those by Jesus Freaks, which I translated exquisitely as “Jesuseros Fanáticos”, hillarious.

      I thank you for this, keep up the good work.

      Regards
      JR

      Like

  8. Steve Immel

    Awesome writing! Damn man, you survived! Very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. J. Bright

    We feel sorry for you that you were raised in a legalistic cult. It seems you need to put the bitterness behind you. When people use the behavior of men as their example of Christianity instead having a true personal relationship with Jesus himself, they can never truly understand the real love of God.

    Like

    • By: John Russell

      So you are taking this opportunity to evangelize me? I thought my disdain for the “Jesus people” was pretty clear and I certainly doubt you would know more about Christianity than I.

      Cheers
      JR

      Like

Leave a comment